Where Did That Come From?

Milking my Nigerian dairy goat this morning, the Lord saw fit to gift me with a message. Usually, I’m singing away or mumbling. This morning, I must have been drifting away from Him. The goat must have noticed, too, because just when the whole quart jar was filled to the brim, she looked back at me and kicked the jar over. Out of my mouth came words that I could never repeat (I shall never repeat). I smacked her on the butt, as a righteously indignant Mom will do, and put her away, still yelling at her on my insides half way back from the barn, when I began to feel remorse for the anger that was exposed in my soul. Where did all that come from?

I recently listened to a teaching from my favorite expositor on the Bible,  Jon Courson, on Revelation 16:21 KJV:

And there fell upon men a great hail out of heaven, every stone about the weight of a talent: and men blasphemed God because of the plague of the hail; for the plague thereof was exceeding great.

Courson goes on to explain that the blasphemy was already present in the hearts of the men and that the hail stones merely exposed it, rather than being the cause. Recognizing the milk incident as one of the hail stones so aptly described in this passage, I asked myself, ” What is causing so much anger to reside so close to the surface of my heart?” I really couldn’t imagine anything that I could point to (or blame).

I did, however, open the Bible in prayer this morning to Job 19:23.

Oh that my words were now written! oh that they were printed in a book!  That they were graven with an iron pen and lead in the rock for ever! KJV

I wondered, at the time, what that particular scripture was intended to do in my life today. When I connected the dots I felt God saying that all of my words will be recorded eternally.

But I say unto you, That every idle word that men shall speak, they shall give account thereof in the day of judgment. Matthew 12:26 KJV

What words do I really want recorded for eternity?

Bless you all.

Leave a Reply

